2020 Postdoctoral Fellowship Summer Seminar

July 27 – July 31, 2020

Online

CLIR has made the difficult decision to suspend in-person meetings and events for the rest of 2020. The health and safety of our constituents, partners, and colleagues were at the forefront of this decision, but we are all so sad not to be able to welcome our 2020 cohort in person at Bryn Mawr College.

New fellows and supervisors are welcome to send questions about the summer seminar or fellowship curriculum to postdoc@clir.org.

June 25, 2020: We’re excited to share the preliminary schedule for the 2020 CLIR Postdoctoral Fellowship Summer Seminar. Times and topics may change slightly over the next few weeks. 

Fellows should plan to be available to meet each day between 9 am and 2 pm Pacific / 11 am and 4 pm Central / 12 pm and 5 pm Eastern (US & Canada).

Supervisors should plan to be available to meet Tuesday, July 28, and Wednesday, July 29, between 9 am and 2 pm Pacific / 11 am and 4 pm Central / 12 pm and 5 pm Eastern (US & Canada).

Fellows and Supervisors will also have the opportunity to schedule one-on-one conversations with members of the program team and select seminar guests Friday, July 31.

Monday, July 27

Session 1: Fellows’ Welcome, Introductions, and the Fellowship Experience

9 am – 10:30 am Pacific / 11 am – 12:30 pm Central / 12 pm – 1:30 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows and Program Team

Session 2: The Culture and Structure of Libraries and Higher Education

11:15 am – 1:45 pm Pacific / 1:15 pm – 3:45 pm Central / 2:15 pm – 4:45 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows and Program Team

Part A: History and Present of Libraries, Museums, and Research Institutions

Part B: The Culture and Structure of Libraries and Higher Education… in Times of Crisis and Uncertainty

Tuesday, July 28 

Session 1: Supervisors’ Welcome, Introductions, and the Fellowship Vision

9 am – 11 am Pacific / 11 am – 1 pm Central / 12 pm – 2 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows, Supervisors, Guests, Program Team

Part A: Welcome

Part B: Conversation with Supervisors and Fellows

Session 2: Postdoctoral Fellowship Planning – Parallel Sessions for Fellows and for Supervisors

12 pm – 1:30 pm Pacific / 2 pm – 3:30 pm Central / 3 pm – 4:30 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows, Supervisors, and Program Team

Wednesday, July 29

Session 1: Guest Presentations

9 am – 11 am Pacific / 11 am – 1 pm Central / 12 pm – 2 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows, Supervisors, Guests, Program Team

Session 2: Reflection

12 pm – 1 pm Pacific / 2 pm – 3 pm Central / 3 pm – 4 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows and Program Team

Thursday, July 30

Session 1: Guest Presentations

9 am – 11 am Pacific / 11 am – 1 pm Central/ 12 pm – 2 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows, Guests, Program Team

Session 2: Independent Work Session

11 am – 12:30 pm Pacific / 1 pm – 2:30 pm Central / 2 pm – 3:30 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows

Session 3: Reflection

12:30 pm – 1 pm Pacific / 2:30 pm – 3 pm Central / 3:30 pm – 4 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows and Program Team

Friday, July 31

Friday Office Hours

Various

Fellows and Supervisors can register for open hours with members of the program team and with guests.

Session 1: Future Session Planning & Wrap-up Discussion

9 am – 10 am Pacific / 11 am – 12 pm Central / 12 pm to 1 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows and Program Team

Session 2: CLIR Postdoctoral Fellowship Alumni and Fellows Social

12:30 pm – 1 pm Pacific / 2:30 pm – 3 pm Central / 3:30 pm – 4 pm Eastern (US & Canada)

Attendees: Fellows and Program Team

215

PhDs

93

Host Institutions

191

Postdocs in the US

24

Postdocs in Canada and Overseas