Close this search box.
Close this search box.

CLIR Annual Report: 2000 – 2001



CLIR has a strong commitment to developing leaders for the information professions. All CLIR programs and publications are meant to provide new ideas, analyze and reinforce existing ideas, and educate individuals who aspire to leadership roles.

Frye Leadership Institute

The Frye Leadership Institute has quickly become one of the most visible and successful of CLIR’s projects. Jointly sponsored by CLIR, EDUCAUSE, and Emory University, the Frye Institute brings together individuals from libraries, information technology divisions, and faculty departments in all types of academic institutions—from community colleges to large research universities.

The second Frye Institute was held at Emory University June 3­15, 2001. Fifty-three of the 175 applicants were selected for this residential program, which focuses on changes in higher education and on the role of information services in the academy. During the first week, presidents, provosts, business officers, and other administrative officers provided personal and often inspiring views of the contributions and challenges of higher education. In the second week, faculty conducted sessions on topics such as intellectual property and copyright, technological advances in teaching and research, scholarly communication, public policy, and personal leadership styles.

Participants were enthusiastic about the experience and gave the institute very high numerical ratings. In the narrative comments, many participants spoke of the transformational nature of the institute and the broadened understanding they had gained as a result of their participation in it.

Frye Institute participants, June 2001


Patricia Battin, Brian Hawkins, Deanna Marcum,
Billy Frye, Joan Gotwals, and Don Harris


Co-deans Deanna Marcum and Richard Detweiler present a
certificate to Mark Colvson of Bryn Mawr College

The Robert W. Woodruff Foundation provides the primary support for the Frye Leadership Institute. Supplemental funding is provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The Patricia Battin Scholarship Fund makes possible participation by individuals whose institutions cannot afford to support their attendance.


Frye Institute Participants, Class of 2001

Karen Adams, Indiana University
Gary Allen, University of Missouri-Columbia
Martha Brogan, Indiana University
Thomas Brooks, Wheaton College
Madeline Carnevale, Mount Holyoke College
Robert Cartolano, Columbia University
Alan Cattier, Emory University
Mark Christel, Hope College
Kathy Christoph, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Beulah Clark, Baton Rouge Community College
W. Mark Colvson, Bryn Mawr College
Emory Craig, College of New Rochelle
Sarah Cron, Southeast Missouri State University
Erik Delfino, Library of Congress
John Ellis, University of Memphis
Linda Friend, Pennsylvania State University
Diane Graves, Hollins University
Samuel Hampton, Executive Leadership Foundation
Lynne Hamre, The College of St. Scholastica
Susan Hilton, University of Oregon
Hans Houshower, Bluffton College
John Howard, Harvard University
Barbara Kaplan, Sarah Lawrence College
Ruth Kifer, George Mason University
Elizabeth Kirk, Johns Hopkins University
Cynthia Krey, The College of St. Catherine
Dewitt Latimer, University of Tennessee
David Lewis, Indiana University, Purdue University, Indianapolis
Dorothy Ohl Lewis, Iowa State University
Linda Matthews, Emory University
Ingrid Mauritzen, National Library of Norway
Susan Metros, University of Tennessee
Stephen Miller, University of Georgia
Lynn Kasner Morgan, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Kevin Morooney, Pennsylvania State University
John Ottenhoff, Alma College
Loretta O’Brien Parham, Hampton University
Gary Pratt, Northern Kentucky University
Carolyn Rawl, Auburn University Montgomery
Robyn Render, University of North Carolina
Michelle A-M Roberts, Delta State University
Michael Roy, Wesleyan University
James Schmidt, Western Illinois University
Harry Schulte, University of Texas at El Paso
Justin Sipher, State University of New York-Potsdam
David Sisk, Macalester College
Eugene Spencer, Bucknell University
Heather Stewart, Seton Hall University
Diane Tebbetts, University of New Hampshire
J. Rebecca Thompson, State University of New York-Potsdam
Darlene Warren, University of Calgary
Linda Watson, University of Virginia Health System
Jian-Zhong Zhou, California State University-Sacramento


Academic Library Advisory Committee

The Academic Library Advisory Committee added one new member this year. Nicholas Burckel, director of Marquette University Libraries, joined the group as a representative of a comprehensive (non-Association of Research Libraries) university library.

The committee had identified three projects to receive priority this year: research on the outsourcing of library functions; the identification of issues in library and information resources that are of greatest interest to college and university presidents; and a study on the use of course management software and its impact on libraries.

A survey by Outsell, Inc., provided answers to the group’s questions about libraries’ success with outsourcing. After reviewing the results, the committee concluded that it would not be fruitful to develop case studies on this topic.

Committee Chairman David Cohen prepared a position paper on the relationship between the vendors of course management software systems and libraries. He noted that because the two groups rarely interact, students and researchers are often unaware of the wealth of information that exists but is not linked to a course Web site. After reviewing the results of in-depth interviews with vendors, the committee agreed to convene an invitational meeting in the fall of 2001 of library directors and vendors to discuss possible approaches that would allow greater representation of library materials through their systems.

CLIR’s new publication series, CLIRinghouse, was created in response to recommendations by the Academic Library Committee and the CLIR Board. The publications staff spent several months this year developing ideas and testing them with our advisers. In addition, they worked with key administrators to determine the presentation format that would most likely be read.

Zipf Fellowship

The 2001 A. R. Zipf Fellowship in Information Management was awarded to Terence Kelly, a Ph.D. student in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Michigan. Mr. Kelly is the fifth recipient of the Zipf Fellowship. His research focuses on optimal resource allocation in hierarchical caching systems, especially Web caching. He has spoken and written extensively on this topic; his most recent article, “Optimal Web Cache Sizing: Scalable Methods for Exact Solutions,” appeared in Computer Communications in February 2001.

The Zipf Fellowship is awarded annually to the graduate student in some field of information management or systems who best represents the ideals of Al Zipf, for whom the fellowship is named. Kent Smith, of the National Library of Medicine, chairs the selection committee. Other members are Christine Borgman, Martin Cummings, Billy Frye, and Rena Zipf.

Patricia Battin Scholarship

The second annual Patricia Battin Scholarship was awarded in June 2001 to Hans Houshower, director of technology at Bluffton College in Bluffton, Ohio. Established in 1999 by friends and family of Patricia Battin, the scholarship provides financial assistance for participants in the Frye Leadership Institute whose institutions cannot afford to support their attendance.

Skip to content